Governance - College Board
Important Update: December 1, Internet Disruptions at Burnaby Campus. December 1st classes have been changed to virtual delivery.
Alexander College Logo

Alexander College is headed by a board of distinguished educators from universities and colleges in BC. Its main purpose is to ensure that the college maintains the highest standards of academic and professional excellence. The board consists of the following members:

Title Name Sector Representation (i.e., external, faculty, staff, administration, student, etc.)
Chair David Robitaille, BA (Montreal), MA (Detroit), PhD (Ohio State), Professor Emeritus and former Head of the Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy, UBC. External
Vice Chair Mackie Chase, BEd, RSA, MEd, Director Emeritus, Centre for Intercultural Communication, UBC. External
Member Tony Akester, VP Asset Management, J.J.Barnicke Management. External
Member Valerie Overgaard, BEd (UBC), MA (UVic), PhD (SFU). Former Associate Superintendent of Schools and District Principal for the Vancouver School Board. External
Member Marv Westrom, BEd, MEd, PhD (U of A), Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Education, UBC. President, Alexander College. Administration
Member Patrick Zhao, MSc, Vice President-Operations, Alexander College. Administration
Ex-Officio Observer Hugh Johnston, PhD (King’s College, University of London) Professor Emeritus, Department of History, SFU. Vice President-Academic, Alexander College. Administration
Provost Barbara Moon, BSc (Hons), PhD (SFU), Professor Emerita and former Head of the Department of Biology, UFV. Provost, Alexander College. Administration
Student Representative Student
Student Representative TBA Student